MONTAGUE TOWNSHIP SCHOOLS – Sussex County - New Jersey Based on an article by Ralph & Amelia S. Decker in <u>The New Jersey Herald</u>, December 27, 1951 Retyped for M.A.R.C.H. from original, September, 2021

District No. 1 - River

This district, the most northern in Sussex County, started at Tri-State Rock, corner of Pennsylvania, New York, and New Jersey, ran south following the Delaware River to Quick's Island, then east to top of ridge, followed the ride north to New York state line, then west to the point of beginning.

Early district clerks were Abram Joseph VanNoy, Benjamin Hornbeck, and Robert Armstrong; still later, Robert H. Oliver, Oscar G. VanAuken and E.H. Cooper. Among those serving as trustees for considerable time were John Kerr, Lewis VanAuken, Joseph VanNoy. Early teachers were Hattie Ennis, 1874; George McCarty, 1876; Stella Hornbeck, 1881; Alice Schneider, 1883. Note – records of other years not available. This completes record of No. 1 up to 1894 when a state law was passed and the municipality became the school unit.

1902 enrollment, 27 – Teacher, Josie Layton 1942 enrollment, 10 – Teacher, Mrs. Olive R. Hughson

District No. 2 - Millville

This district was south of No. 1, extending from Quick's Island to Millville. It was merged with District No. 3 – Brick House, in 1878, at first called Delaware, later Brick House.

District No. 3 - Brick House

This district, after the merger with No. 2, extended from Quick's Island to Sandyston Township, thence east to ridge and north to southern border of No. 1. Early district clerks were Jared Hornbeck. (Note – Superintendent Stiles in his records states: "Outhouse, one apartment, good condition.") B.C. Westbrook, Daniel B. Everitt, George Armstrong, John Kyte, Jr. and George A. Skinner. Other members were Gottfired Weiland, Manning Weir and George W. Cole. Early teachers: Emma Hornbeck, 1874; G.P.Baxter, 1876; W.M. VanSickle, 1878; J.D. Reynolds, 1893.

1902 enrollment, 48 – Teachers, Seely Hutchinson & Alice Ramage 1943 enrollment, 12 - Teacher, Mrs. Dorothy S. Hall

District No. 4 – Church

This district was made of the Fuller or Fullerton district and part of Clove, and was called Church. Early District Clerks: James E. Cole, 1873; (Note – suitable outhouse) O. Alphens Smith, 1877; Obedian Smith, 1879; E.E. Bross, 1883; Barney Ayers, 1866; other members, E.L. Fuller, Stephen Winters, Isaac J. Smith, and George Wright. Teachers: Lizzie Turner, 1876 & 1877; Maggie Dusenberry, 1878; Gussie Hough, 1881; George McCarthy, 1893.

1902 enrollment, 36 – Teacher, Charles N. Cortright 1942 enrollment, 12 – Teacher, Mrs. Gertrude O'Neil

District No. 5 - Coles or Coleville

By order of Superintendent Hill, approved by Ellis A. Apgar, State Superintendent, Public Instruction, this district was set to District No. 4 Church and district No. 1, Shayton, in Sandyston Township, Aug. 2, 1882. District Clerks: Matthew Shay, 1873; (Note – no outhouse) George Cole, 1876; Joshua Cole, 1878, Moses Cole, 1879. Other members: Samuel Morris, Martin J. Westbrook and Benjamin H. Cole. Teachrs: P.F. VanNoy, 1872; Oscar VanAuken, 1876; George McCarthy, 1893.

District No. 6 – Perryville

This district was discontinued Aug. 1, 1882, and the territory set off to District No. 94, VanStickle, Wantage Township. District Clerks: Thomas Perry, 1876; Abram Rutan, 1878; W.W. Perry, 1879; Linn Rutan, 1880. Other trustees – Bowdewine Gunderman, Martin Rutan, Evi Titsworth and James Davenport. (Note – site located on S.W corner of Sawmill and Ridge Roads in High Point State Park.)

District No. 7 – Clove

This district and Fredericksburg, No. 8, were united and called Clove. District Clerks: David Westfall, 1873; (Note – two outhouses. Good order. August 29, 1874. Supt. Stiles); John Higgart, 1880. Other trustees, William Nearpass, Joseph Mandeville, Cormingus Kerr. Teachers: Edna Westfall, 1872; Libbie Cornell, 1874; A.W.Winters, 1877; David Francisco, 1881; Ella Jones, 1883.

1902 enrollment, 20 – Teacher, Blanche B. Young 1942 enrollment, 12 – Teacher, Mrs. Elizabeth Mapes

District No. 8 – Fredericksburg (See District No. 7)

The Nelden-Roberts School House, was built in the 18th century and had ceased to be used as a school by 1867, probably replaced by the Brick House school, it is therefore not in the above list. Currently owned by the National Park Service and occupied by the Montague Association of Community History as a museum.

In 1894, the State Legislature passed an act making each municipality a school district, since which time the school officers were: (Note: only those serving the longest terms given.) President of Board of Education, Loren S. Cole, Jacob McCarty, George Hooken, Henry Schneider, Martin Cole. District Clerks: James Rundle, John Middleton, Bruce Penny, Mrs. Bruce Penny. Other board members: Sanford Nearpass, George Westbrook, Jacob Ramage, Oscar VanAuken, Judson Perry, Fred Reinhard and Grant Cole. Teachers: Edna H. Day, Charles N. Cortright, Docie F. Cortright, Walter McKeeby, William Hartrim, Lura I. DePue, Louise Birsch, Virginia McCarthy, Elizabeth Mapes, Gertrude O'Neill, Olive Middleton Hughson, and Gertrude Cox. Board of Education: 1948-1950; President, Mrs. Helen Poetzsch; Vice-President, Robert Westbrook; District Clerk, Mrs. Robert Blasberg, Mrs. Dorothy Reinhardt, Mrs. Helen Pratschler, Flory Coss, Stewart Rapp, Robert Blasberg, Harvey Houch, and Carl Pfiel.

Teachers: River, Mrs. Carol Cortright; Church, Mrs. Gertrude O'Neil; Brick House, George Morris. Salary per teacher, \$2,200.

Total 1902 enrolment, 131; total 1942 enrollment, 50.

About 1940, an effort was made to consolidate the school, with a three-room building at Brick House. The proposal was defeated by the voters. The present school was erected in 1954, with additions in 1970 and 1980.